Goodbye, March.

The month has culminated in three very exciting pieces of news: my MFA conferral, and two short story publications.

My experience at Lindenwood was incredible, allowing me to hone my craft in ways that were both direly needed and beyond my expectations. I have nothing but good things I say about the program. I will be forever grateful for my professors, who are among those named in my thesis acknowledgements, but hidden away in pages that no one will read. If only Lindenwood published student theses…

NoiseMedium will be publishing my short story, Crystal Ball, on May 9. I entered their inaugural contest and was selected as a finalist. I’m pleased to be a part of their publication. The story is centered on a teenage girl and her mother’s obsession with a prediction of her death.

Riding Light informed me today that they would like to publish my short fantasy piece, The Gold Curse, in their forthcoming fantasy-themed issue. It’s the only short fantasy piece I’ve written to date, although Sacrifice for Resonata has a somewhat fantastical horror element within the modern world. The Gold Curse is a standalone piece in its own special world of fantasy creatures, but focuses on the pursuits of one dwarf. I will update my publications page in the next month or two when it’s released in print.

Soon, I will began posting about craft and literary elements. I’ve enjoyed exchanging advice with other writers in the classroom or in writing groups, so perhaps my posts will be of us to someone. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

